BBC Sports Personality of the Year at Genting Arena

Read this in: 2 minutes

BBC Sports Personality of the Year is heading to Birmingham next month where some of the biggest names in UK sport will be recognised for their success.

16 contenders will go head to head to win the crown of ‘Sports personality of 2016’ with the star-studded awards evening taking place at Genting Arena on Sunday 18th December.

The past 12 months have delivered an incredible year of sporting achievement; from Team GB and ParalympicsGB’s incredible success in Rio, Leicester City’s surprise Premier League title, Wales’s run to the semis of Euro 2016, England’s Grand Slam victory in the Six Nations and so many amazing individual performances across so many sports – this year’s awards could be the most hotly contested yet.

Gabby Logan announced the much-anticipated shortlist exclusively on BBC One’s The One Show earlier this evening. The contenders this year are:

  • Nicola Adams – Boxing
  •  Gareth Bale – Football
  • Alistair Brownlee – Triathlon
  • Sophie Christiansen – Equestrian  
  • Kadeena Cox – Athletics/Cycling
  • Mo Farah – Athletics
  • Jason Kenny – Cycling
  • Laura Kenny – Cycling
  • Andy Murray – Tennis
  • Adam Peaty – Swimming
  • Kate Richardson-Walsh – Hockey
  • Nick Skelton – Equestrian
  • Dame Sarah Storey – Cycling
  • Jamie Vardy – Football
  • Max Whitlock – Gymnastics
  • Danny Willett – Golf

In addition to the main award, others will be presented on the night including: Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, Overseas Sports Personality of the Year, Lifetime Achievement Award, the Helen Rollason Award and the Get Inspired Unsung Hero Award.

Gary Lineker, Clare Balding and Gabby Logan will be returning once again to host the awards to a huge crowd of 12,000. The whole event will be broadcast live on BBC One One HD from 18.40pm.  During the event, the public can vote for their favourite sports star online or by phone on Sunday 18 December. The number to call for each contender will be revealed during the programme. There is no voting via email, Red Button or by text. For further information go to

There will also be a red carpet event where guests may spot favourite sports stars and other celebrities attending the event.

The winner of Young Sports Personality of the Year 2016 will be announced on BBC One’s The One Show ahead of BBC Sports Personality of the Year taking place.

The industry panel for this year’s BBC Sports Personality of the Year included 2009 winner of the award Ryan Giggs, Olympic Gold medallist Victoria Pendleton and former Paralympian Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson. They sat alongside sports presenter Ore Oduba, journalist Amy Lawrence and Chief Executive of UK Sport Liz Nicholl.

Also on the 2016 panel were newspaper sports editors David James (Sunday Mirror/Sunday People), Adam Sills (Daily/Sunday Telegraph) and Alison Kervin (Mail on Sunday). Representing the BBC were Director of Sport Barbara Slater, Head of TV Sport Philip Bernie and Sports Personality Executive Editor Carl Doran.

For voting criteria on all the awards, further information and updates click here.

[infobox maintitle=”Don’t miss out on BBC Sports Personality of the Year” subtitle=”Click here to get your tickets” bg=”yellow” color=”white” opacity=”off” space=”30″ link=””]


No Comments Yet

Comments are closed